Press Releases

Wicker, Markey, Kelly, Horsford Introduce Dynamic Glass Act

Bipartisan Bill Would Incentivize Use of Energy-Saving Glass

Washington, June 13, 2019 | Susan Parker ((662) 687-2570)

WASHINGTON - U.S. Senators Roger Wicker, R-Miss., and Ed Markey, D-Mass., along with Congressmen Trent Kelly, R-Miss., and Steven Horsford, D-Nev., today introduced the Dynamic Glass Act. The bill would make electrochromic glass eligible for federal energy tax credits. This specialized glass transitions between clear and variable tint, providing control over the amount of light and heat entering a building.

“Incentivizing greater use of dynamic glass would help more businesses and homeowners lower their energy bills and benefit from energy tax credits,” Wicker said. “This legislation would also support American manufacturing jobs, including many in Mississippi.” Markey said, “We need to be addressing the carbon footprint and energy demand of buildings across the country, and technologically advanced windows can play a key role in increasing energy efficiency. The cleanest and cheapest watt of energy is one that is never used, and the Dynamic Glass Act would help lower emissions and energy costs by making electrochromic windows more affordable.”

“I am honored to introduce this bicameral and bipartisan legislation that would make electrochromic, or dynamic, glass more affordable for commercial developers, while decreasing energy costs and consumption,” Kelly said.

“As our economy continues to grow, emissions and energy consumption from commercial buildings across the U.S. are expected to rise,” Horsford said. “By making electrochromic glass more affordable, our bill counteracts this trend and promotes the development of clean, energy efficient buildings across the U.S.”

View, Inc., employs over 600 people in Olive Branch, Mississippi..                                                                                              

Wicker, Markey, Kelly, Horsford Introduce Dynamic Glass Act
Wicker, Markey, Kelly, Horsford Introduce Dynamic Glass Act

Connect with Trent

Use the form below to sign up for updates from Representative Kelly or connect in social media.

District Offices

Washington, D.C.

2243 Rayburn H.O.B.
Washington, DC 20515
(202) 225-4306
(202) 225-3549

Columbus, MS

318 North 7th Street, Suite D
Columbus, MS 39701
(662) 327-0748
(662) 328-5982

Eupora, MS

855 South Dunn Street
Eupora, MS 39744
(662) 687-1545

Farmington, MS

4135 County Road 200
Corinth, MS 38844
(662) 687-1525

Hernando, MS

2565 Caffey Street, #200
P.O. Box 218
Hernando, MS 38632
(662) 687-0576
(662) 687-3477

Tupelo, MS

431 West Main Street Suite #450
Tupelo, MS 38804
(662) 841-8808

Oxford, MS

107 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
(662) 687-1540
(662) 328-5982